Twitist Forums
SEO basics for a designer? - Printable Version

+- Twitist Forums (http://twitist.com)
+-- Forum: General Social Media & Marketing Forums (/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: SEO Search Engine Optimization (/forum-30.html)
+--- Thread: SEO basics for a designer? (/thread-147411.html)

SEO basics for a designer? - Michael - 04-28-2014 04:35 AM

Hello!

I've been learning web design (not development) for the past 2 years in my spare time as a hobby. I know how to design the graphics, design a layout, put it all into code so that It looks nice and integrate that design into a wordpress theme - should the need arise. However, I want to start building websites as a source of income on the side and I have to admit that i do not know anything about SEO. I would feel like a cheap car sales-man if I didn't provide at least the very basics of SEO for a customer, so I feel that that is something that I should know how to provide (even if it is very basic). I know how to declare my document as XHTML, which is about it. I know virtually nothing of metadata tags, google localization (or whatever it may be called) or how to get my site listed on search engines period.

If you can direct me to the very basics, or enough to not rip off my clients when it comes to my services, I would be most appreciative.

Thank you for reading my question! And Thank you in advanced for your answers! Smile

- Doodled - 04-28-2014 04:45 AM

Go through this step by step guide:
http://howtoseo.link2light.com/how-to-seo-your-website.php

It will give you the bare bones of what you need to know when you are building a website with SEO in mind.

Really SEO is so fundamental at the moment that it needs to be integrated into the design rather than left as a separate process afterwards so if you are going to progress as a web designer you have to get your head around Search Engine Optimisation asap.