Twitist Forums
Would I be considered racist for deleting this FB friend? - Printable Version

+- Twitist Forums (http://twitist.com)
+-- Forum: Facebook forums (/forum-14.html)
+--- Forum: General facebook and life forums (/forum-25.html)
+--- Thread: Would I be considered racist for deleting this FB friend? (/thread-158683.html)

Pages: 1 2

Would I be considered racist for deleting this FB friend? - Telling It Like It Is - 05-23-2014 07:53 AM

I am a white woman, 30 years old and consider myself down-to-earth and I am a professional in my field - but even hanging out with or talking to friends, I don't use much cursing or slang.

I am friends with a black guy on Facebook whom I went to middle school with - he's basically the only black guy I have on FB. His statuses are strictly street talk and cursing and I can never understand what he's writing because it's all profanity (he writes 'sup wit theze nuggas!' as his status)

He requested me a year ago as a classmate and we chatted now and then and he commented here and there, but now he doesn't say anything to me and if he does, it's all in cursing slang which I don't relate to.
Would this be considered racist if I deleted him?

PS I'm really not deleting him because of his color - but rather his street language and unneeded profanity in everything he posts.
I bring it up as a race issue because NONE not ONE of my white friends speaks like this..Not even my spanish friends!

- Miss Seabrook - 05-23-2014 07:59 AM

This has nothing to do with him being black so why do you mention his race all the time?

If there was a white person on your FB who wrote like that, you'd delete them right? So why does it matter if he's black? Who cares?

So many people get so sensitive over Facebook. I'm sorry, but if I don't like your posts, or YOU, I will delete you. I've gotten so many whiny "why'd you delete me?" messages, but honestly, I just ignore them. This isn't middle school.

- Rick James - 05-23-2014 08:09 AM