This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How to tell someone you think you have social anxiety disorder?
02-24-2014, 09:28 PM
How to tell someone you think you have social anxiety disorder?
I was always a shy little kid. I was the quiet one in elementary school, and I didn't like having to talk to people I didn't know well. I was a little tense in social situations, but I thought it was all pretty normal.

In middle school, I still just thought I was shy. I kind of noticed that I didn't talk as much as other kids, and I still didn't like being in large groups of people, since it made me jittery, but I figured I was just an introvert, and it wasn't too big of a deal.

I'm a sophomore in high school now, and my nervousness around other people has only intensified, to a point where I feel like it's ruining my life. I feel completely isolated from other people, all the time. I've tried to make friends, and while I've made a few, I'm not really close with them, and I notice how comfortable they all seem together, while I just feel awkward and weird when I hang out with them. They feel more like acquaintances than anything else, just because I'm not comfortable with opening up to anyone. I can't do anything with public speaking, which is ruining my grades, and making me miserable (we have to give speeches pretty often in English....I typically end up either in tears, or shaking and stuttering uncontrollably by the end of the speech). We have to participate in a debate in February in my current English class, and I've had panic attacks about it numerous times before, even though it's months away. I have a really hard time ordering food at restaurants, and talking on the phone, so I try to avoid it at all costs (other times, when I have to go out, I make my sister order food for me, or talk to strangers). Texting is so