This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Is scoliosis surgery worth the risks?
03-22-2014, 02:52 PM
Is scoliosis surgery worth the risks?
So I have a very painful 43degree curve in my lower back and a 20degree curve in my upper back. I don't have a day when I don't have pain. School is a challenge and you can forget about anything involving extensive walking. I'm 17 and going off to college soon. I want to be a normal college student who can do things everyone else can. Are the risks of surgery worth it? I really don't know what I should do. My surgeon says that it's up to me, and that he has seen people go either way. Help!

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-22-2014, 03:04 PM

Hello, Scoliosis is a very painful disease and can cause so much misery and
pain. It is a serious surgery. and can be dangerous to you due to the possibility
of possibly being paralyzed with any back surgery. A surgery like that can go either way. You can be better after it is done, or worse. There really is no other alternative but surgery if you want to take the risks. Without the surgery you will continue to become more twisted with time so you have to weigh. I feel your
pain as I had back surgery with a plate and 6 screws and must live in chronic
constant pain .I survive each day wishing for a new body. I Won.t ever get it
but just a wish. I hope you make the right one for you. God bless.

Ads

03-22-2014, 03:06 PM