This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
I want to get a pet snake, but I want a small one.?
03-24-2014, 10:41 AM
I want to get a pet snake, but I want a small one.?
Are there any spices of snakes that don't get very large? I've wanted a pet snake for a while now and have kept lizards in the past, so I know how to take care of reptiles and how to feed live food, but I've never had a snake before. I want one that is not poisonous. I have little experience with snakes and don't exactly know what breed to get. To give you an idea, I don't want a snake that's going to get more than 2 and a half feet long. What is a good snake for a beginner?

I also have some other questions that hopefully someone can answer:

Do pet stores often remove their snakes fangs?
Where can I go to get a live snake other than a big chain pet store (i.e. petco, petsmart. I don't like how they treat their animals)?
How big of a tank/terrarium do I need for a small snake?
Are snakes social? Do they like to be around other snakes, or does this depend on breed?
I've heard that male snakes tend to be smaller than female snakes, is this true?
How do you tell if a snake is male or female?
How much can you handle or pick up snakes (again does this depend on breed?)
How often do you have to feed a snake, and are frozen pink mice the only thing you can give them?
Live food or frozen food?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2014, 10:47 AM

No, most snakes keep their fangs, if they even have any. Either way, I wouldn't get a venomous snake. Most non-venomous snakes don't bite too often.
You could always find other owners locally, on forums, Kijiji, eBay..etc but that might be a little risky. Do you have any little pet shops or local exotic animal stores?