This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Android applications data usage (android experts preferred)?
03-31-2014, 06:01 AM
Android applications data usage (android experts preferred)?
Does anyone know about android application data usage? I am new to android and have gotten very concern about its applications using up data that I'm not aware of.

(1)-Do applications downloaded from android market use up data after they have been downloaded, such as live wallpaper?

(2) In the "manage applications" section, do the "running" are applications using data? Under the application, there is a number such as 36.00KB. Is that just how big it is or is is using that much data because it is running?

(3) Do widgets, like Daily Briefing, use up data while on they are on the home page since it tells you things like the weather?

(4) Is there a way to stop applications from running automatically? Everytime I force close an application, it comes back up there.

I know this is a lot, but I would really appreciate any information that can help me. Also, if there is any tips and tricks to keep data and personal info private, that would be great. Thanks in advance.

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
03-31-2014, 06:06 AM

Apps only use data in the background if they're pulling information from the web for updates. That usually includes widgets (that's the point of them) and apps like Twitter, Facebook, Email, weather, etc. If you're getting info from somewhere, where do you think it's coming from? It needs to use data to get it.

If there's an app that uses data in the background, you can probably go into the apps settings and change the update interval or even make it manual.