This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Should I use a free blogging site or create a new domain/web hosting?
04-08-2014, 07:26 PM
Should I use a free blogging site or create a new domain/web hosting?
I am about to start my own blog, question here is which of the two options should I use? I am a beginner and never done or deal with blogging? Are there any advantages or disadvantages on using one of them? Please tell me more.

I want somebody who really knows about blogging, and also I want somebody who knows about creating it too.

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-08-2014, 07:29 PM

Two 'old school' blog choices.

Google's Blogger.com is perhaps the least restrictive free blog host, generally they have no editorial restrictions other than the worst of the illegal, there are no paid upgrades, it does use a relatively simple proprietary blog engine with a limited number of widgets.

Wordpress.com is the slightly limited, free hosted version of the well known Wordpress blog engine, they do charge for adding a custom domain name.

The industry standard blog engine Wordpress has countless free and commercial plugins and themes, about 17% of the top 1 million web sites use Wordpress. There is a free wordpress host wordpress.com which has some sort of paid upgrades for things like a custom domain name or added revenue earning, using the multi-user version of Wordpress there are some limitations of the free hosted version.

There are no decent free domain names, you either get the Post Office Box like subdomain yoursite.hostname.com or pay about $12/yr for a custom domain name like yoursite.com.