This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Questions about Ebay selling.?
04-15-2014, 06:02 AM
Questions about Ebay selling.?
So this is my first time selling something on Ebay and im just curious to know on the List as an Auction - Enter a starting price. For example if i entered £150 in the starting price section will my item ever be sold for below that price?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-15-2014, 06:04 AM

The starting price is usually the minimum you will accept for that item. So in this case no it wouldnt sell for under £150. The higher the starting price though the higher the fee and it may put people off. You can have a reserve price (also for a fee) so if it doesnt reach say £150 it wont sell.

Ads

04-15-2014, 06:18 AM

Yes, it can not be sold for under your designated start price. However, if you set the start too high I probably will not get any bids. It's usually wise to set the start price at a bit over the least amount you would be willing to take (remember that fees tend to run around 10%). Some sellers of popular items take a risk and start it too low in hopes of encouraging a bidding frenzy. That strategy sometimes works and sometimes does not. There is no certainty, though.

You can easily get a good idea of the best price for an item. Do an eBay search for the item type and click the "Competed Items" box on the left, then at the top set "Sort" to "highest first". The listings with green prices are what similar items sold for over the last few weeks. I always do this type of search before setting a price.
04-15-2014, 06:21 AM

No, the starting price is just that, bids start at £150. Though it is not called it starting at £150 is setting a reserve price.