This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Taking pics at a friends wedding?
11-09-2012, 09:09 AM
Taking pics at a friends wedding?
First of all.... I am NOT a professional. No intentions of becoming one, either. Just throwing that out there. So I don't want all these "Before you step into wedding photography..."

A friend asked me to take pictures at her wedding. She has seen my pictures on facebook and likes my work...I've never done a wedding or anything like that - mostly just pictures of modeling friends, random things, friends siblings/kids etc, animals, outdoors, nature, etc...

I made it clear that I am in no way experienced with weddings or groups for that matter, but she said that's okay - they just don't have money for a photographer. So, I agreed, and I know she knows I'm no pro and I'm not trying to be, but I still want to do a great job. Since this has come up several months ago I have read countless books on wedding photography/digital photography/flashes etc etc etc.

I will be using my Canon 40d and my father (way more experienced than I but not a pro, either) will be along with one, as well. And yes, I know quite a bit about aperature, shutter speed, ISO, etc.

NOW, my questions...

-Which lenses would be best? We have a 50mm, 35-80mm, 28-105mm, 24-85mm, and 75-300mm.

-The wedding will be outdoors...(this in itself scares me) and I have just one, 200E speedlight flash, however, I have very little experience with it. So, should I spend the next few weeks using it and figuring it out, or go without it?

I'm planning on just putting everything on a CD when we're done...is this the best way, or would something else work better?

I've been reading as much as I can, but any other tips would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thank you! Smile

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply