This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How can I convince my sister not to become a photographer?
11-09-2012, 06:15 PM
How can I convince my sister not to become a photographer?
My younger sister has been getting into photography lately (just like every other high school girl) and I don't know if her pictures of babies and horses and crap are better than anyone else's but man there is nothing more annoying than seeing another "insert any name here photography" page on Facebook every 5 seconds. I personally am a welder/bartender by trade and have tried to get her into both of these activities but she hasn't shown much interest. What can I do?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2012, 06:24 PM

Right now she can't afford photography... so no worries.

show her this http://www.nppa.org/professional_develop...dbcalc.cfm

show her this http://youarenotaphotographer.com/

Ask her if her photos look as good as these: http://500px.com/

Ads

Is a good hubby to be a photographer. I leave her alone as long as she love is the best for her

leave her to find her own way...

Educate her as to what good photography is and have her compare her images to those of real pros. Go buy a few high end magazines that reflect her interests (babies, ponies, yada) - point out the differences between her photos and the professional ones. Encourage her to actually learn photography - the technical requirements, composition, and talk to her about the fact she is no where near ready to start a business (oh thank you!) but is only beginning to learn the subtle and difficult discipline of photography.

With teenagers, once they find out how hard photography actually is, they often wander off somewhere else.