This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How much privacy does a teenager deserve to have?
11-09-2012, 07:25 PM
How much privacy does a teenager deserve to have?
I have a 14 year old daughter who lives with her mother. We were never married and haven’t been involved in a very long time.

Her mother is insistent upon having her Facebook user name and password and the same for her email account. She can be a hellion but I don't feel has done anything worthy of being watched so closely. I'm no expert parent so I was curious what the popular opinion was.

Is this fair or is this too much?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2012, 07:33 PM

Privacy is a privilege that must be earned, and is not automatic.

Teens are incredibly stupid and naive, and must be protected even if they don't want to be.

Ads

Fair stops at a roof over their heads, clean clothing and food and love. Beyond that, mom and or dad call the shots. ABSOLUTELY you should have all passwords and access to facebook, email, txt messages, etc...!!! you would not be a responsible parent otherwise.

I've noticed the most suspicious people are the ones who were rogues themselves. Her mom was likely a social brat in her teen years so now she distrusts her daughter.

Think of this: a child/teen is like a spring. You coil it so tightly that one day it springs back harder than you could imagine.
I'm 14, exactly your daughter's age. I get that her mom wants to protect her, like any good mom!
But if I were in your daughter's position, I would feel like my mom did not trust me one ounce enough to let me have something of my own, by myself.
I think her mother should reserve the right to go on her facebook, and establish that having a Facebook is a privilege, and can be taken away.