This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How do I break the news of a death to someone?
11-09-2012, 08:41 PM
How do I break the news of a death to someone?
My uncle called me this morning, and informed me that my aunt had passed away last night. My cousin who is like a brother to me, well that was his mom, and he don't know yet. He is going to school in another state right now.

Is it too impersonal to do over facebook? Should I call him? What should I say?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-09-2012, 08:50 PM

"Dude, aunt "So-and-so" just crocked!"

Ads

I'd at the very least call.

Jeez, you actually considered Facebook?

"Phone home, your mom died."

Hi! I'm a pastor. I've found that it's best to be direct. Call him and tell him what happened. Don't beat around the bush.

Text message?

Just say call home!EMERGENCY

Facebook is way to impersonal. Yes it must be a call. Did your Uncle ask you to call? Because it really should be him who makes the call.

why is it that you are having to do this. why isn't his father or step father doing it?

that aside, you definately need to call. don't email or text or put it on facebook.

you should probably also alert the school counselor or student support helper since the death of one's mother is a real blow, even if they didn't have a great relationship. be sure there is someone who can be present to help him deal with it.