This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Regretting First Real Job After College...What Should I Do?
11-27-2012, 06:37 AM
Regretting First Real Job After College...What Should I Do?
Hello guys,

Here is my situation. I recently graduated college in May and accepted my only job offer back in March. The position is for a retail store management position. I graduated with a degree in marketing and I know I want to do marketing research or something that actually utilizes my degree for the rest of my life. I can't see myself working as a manager for a retail store forever because I don't see much room to grow salary wise and I felt like I only accepted the job because of family pressure and I wanted to not be stuck without a job when graduating college. I've worked retail ever since high school and I know I am naturally good at it because of my experience but I hate the hours and knowing my salary won't increase quickly. I want to stay only at least a year max because then I won't have to return the signing bonus the company gave me. However, the stress of being away from home and my girlfriend is making me said because I am living 11 hours away from home. Would it be ok for me to be looking for a new job if I am unhappy with my current situation? I have student loans to pay off and I really do need to work to pay them off asap. Thanks!
The signing bonus was only $2,500. Would it hurt me in the long run though? I know I don't want to be in retail forever and I already have good leads back home because of my own personal and family networks

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-27-2012, 06:45 AM

If you don't mind paying back the signing bonus, go for it...why stay in a job that you don't like. Just keep the job hunting on the quiet side and be prepared to pay back that bonus.

Ads