This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Employers what do you expect when you hire front end developer?
01-16-2013, 10:41 AM
Employers what do you expect when you hire front end developer?
Hello,

Today I decided that I wan't to apply for a front end developer job in the city of London.
I've never worked for a company before, but I do have some freelance experience.
Furthermore I am now working on my portfolio website, where I am planing to showcase 5+ "demo" works I've made (demo means that those websites were not created for actual companies, but for ones I made up)

So I want to ask you, employers, to give me any advice, like what would you like to see on front end developers cv, what should I include on my motivation letter etc.

Additionally, I want to list some of the ideas that I want to include on my portfolio website and hear your opinion on good and bad ideas.

> Little bit about my background (interests, hobbies, how I got into web development)

> My skills (Html4/html5 , css/css3, JavaScript (Also object orientated), jQuery)

> Links to my twitter, Facebook, github (I plan to create several small projects), linkedIn accounts

> Links to websites like Codecademy, Udacity (websites that show learning and web-courses I took online)

> Make my portfolio website and all demo websites retina display ready, responsive and minimalistic (Showcase dom manipulation and ajax features by using jQuery)

> Also, during creation of my portfolio website I will screen capture all the process (from planing on paper to photoshop mockup to live development) and than speed it up into 10min video to show all my working process.

> Add downloadable resume

> Add my photo

> Add easy and simple to use contact form

> Try to write as little code as possible and make lay it out in clean and neat way.