This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Marketing Degree vs. Finance Degree?
01-18-2013, 04:57 AM
Marketing Degree vs. Finance Degree?
I am a newly accepted student at the University of Connecticut School of Business and my current major is Marketing. However, some people have told me that Marketing might not be the best major, and anyone can get a Marketing job by only taking a few marketing classes but not necessarily get a degree. I think it's probably the most interesting aspect of business because it involves creativity and being social.

I'm torn if I should change to Finance because people say there's better opportunities for jobs and more job security, but I'm concerned that such a particular career path would be bland and boring. However, I am sure the money is good. I hope to at least make over $100,000 at some point. So I'm torn.

As an aside, my school offers an opportunity to get a certificate in Professional Sales (which is a concentration of Marketing) which is open to any business major.

What do you think???

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-18-2013, 05:05 AM

First of all, congratulations. Second, the choice between majoring in Marketing or Finance is a good choice. Both are practical and can lead to successful careers. If you were trying to decide between an English degree and a Finance degree and paying for college with loans then I would stress a Finance degree.