This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Chances of being accepted into Wharton at UPenn (or other good undergrad business schools)?
01-27-2013, 04:21 PM
Chances of being accepted into Wharton at UPenn (or other good undergrad business schools)?
I'm still in my second year in high school, but am interested in studying business, concentrating on advertising, communications and marketing. I'd like to know more about what I can do in the next two years to be prepared for applying to good undergrad business schools (in particular, Wharton).

What I have so far:
GPA: 3.9 (I go to an extremely competitive school)
750 on SAT II Math Subject (taken 2 times)
Am taking advanced honors courses
Preparing an art and music portfolio
Am president of a community-scale TEDx program at my school
Intern at a social media company
Volunteer at a hospital
Have taken a few classes in comp sci
Spanish Honor Society member
National Art Honor Society member
Play flute in a local youth symphonic group

Planning to take: AP Economics, AP Psychology, US history, AP English and Literature, AP Calculus and Statistics, AP Bio, AP Physics, Spanish Honors, AP Chinese

What other courses/activities would you suggest? Any advice on pursuing a career in marketing/advertising?

Thanks!

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-27-2013, 04:29 PM

You should have a good chance considering that you still have two years left to do a lot of things

However, I am assuming you are of an Asian descent (since you said you are going to take AP Chinese)
That gives you a major disadvantage if you are Sad
Make sure your art portfolio is drawn from a good place (school drawing portfolios are not very good no offense)
I would sign up for a summer program at Wharton like http://www.wharton.upenn.edu/academics/lbw.cfm