This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Can my Mac get a virus from an infected memory stick?
02-27-2013, 04:00 AM
Can my Mac get a virus from an infected memory stick?
Okay, I'm new to this- I just got a Mac, and I'm infamous for my uncanny ability to always catch viruses. Regardless, there are a few music documents on my old, infected netbook that I really need- would transferring the files from one computer to the other (windows netbook to macbook pro) via memory stick infect or harm my computer?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2013, 04:06 AM

No. Microsoft viruses will call on key Microsoft features while Mac is mostly UNIX-based. That's the most simple way I can put it. The only virus I know for mac from a USB device is the Newton virus too so... I'd say that you're safe.

Ads

02-27-2013, 04:10 AM

99.999% chance no

Unless the creator of the virus anticipated the files being transfered to a mac and created a subroutine to run when plugged in to detect OS, and install, etc, etc.

You should be fine, even if there is a hidden root kit lol. It would look at your file system and think "wtf?"
02-27-2013, 04:20 AM

If the source code of the virus was written for only a PC, which it most likely was, then no, the virus should have no affect on your new Mac. Virus coders hardly ever write viruses for Macs because of the difficulty of the task. You shouldn't be able to get a virus on a Mac, but just to make sure I would download AVG free antivirus. the best free one out there.
02-27-2013, 04:24 AM

It depends entirely on what viruses you have on your windows computer. The vast majority of viruses will only run on a windows machine but there are a rising number of viruses that can now also run on osx as well as viruses made specifically to target a mac.