This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How can I ever get a job?
02-27-2013, 06:46 AM
How can I ever get a job?
I'm a 22-year-old uni student with zero work experience. I also have never been involved with any kind of extracurricular or community activities, so I've got absolutely nothing to put on my resume. I've got few if any practical skills, I'm really not a people person, I'm way too shy to go cold-calling, and I have no social or family network to help me out. All the job ads ask for experience or an outgoing personality and great people skills. With all these disadvantages, how can I ever find someone willing to hire me?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2013, 06:47 AM

Do you have temporary agencies where you are? The papers are full of them. Going to a temp agency had a lot of advantages. They will test you to see where you would fit in, but they will also train you for free. After all the more money you make the more they make. Adecco, Kelly etc. are located all thru the US and there are hundreds more. Even with NO experience they can find you something. Soon you will have a resume like no other.

The nice thing is, if a company you are working for likes you, they can hire you.

Good luck. Call them and they will have a job for you in less than a week.

Ads

02-27-2013, 06:50 AM

First off, have you ever tried to get a job? Do you at least have an internship? If not, start there. Your university should sit you up with one. Good luck, and you can find a job. Sometimes it helps by volunteering somewhere first. And try not to be so shy. I didn't get a paying job until I was 21, so I know how it is.
02-27-2013, 06:59 AM