This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How to find a Hunting mentor?
10-12-2012, 08:04 AM
How to find a Hunting mentor?
I am relatively new to North Carolina and live in Mooresville, NC within Iredell County. I am interested in learning how to hunt. I have already completed the NC Hunter's Education Course and was wondering about obtaining a mentor to teach/guide me on becoming an independent hunter. I looked at the "Hats On" campaign with the NC Wildlife Resources Commission for mentorship, but the program seems more geared towards younger people and I am an adult. After contacting them, It was suggested that I post my question on different social media sites. If anyone can provide me with any direction or information on how to find a teacher to show me the ropes (or take me under their wing themselves) I would be very grateful. Thank you for your time.

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-12-2012, 08:12 AM

Although i do not live in north carolina. I can tell you a few good things about hunting and what to do. The hats on program was a good place to start but i would go to a local gun range or shooting club near you. Chances are you will have a much better time learning about firearms there than on some web site. Plus you will get to make some good friends there i imagine. These guys can also teach you how to shoot properly

Also i advise you to take a hunter's safety course. You can take it online but i usually recommend taking it in person with an instructor so that you can ask him some questions later after the class. I also recommend that a field course be part of your hunter's education, so that you have somewhat of an idea of what you are doing when you are hunting and when you are approached by the game warden.

Now for the fun part. There are two ways you can do this