This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How to start a small record label?
02-28-2013, 05:56 PM
How to start a small record label?
I'm only 13, I know that I can't open one now, but later. Some people I know have AMAZING voices so I'm just wondering.

(I need more answers so this is my first time reporting this)

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-28-2013, 05:57 PM

Be older than we will talk
Until then, shut up and do something else

Ads

02-28-2013, 06:00 PM

Below given tips will help you.

Write a comprehensive business plan. Work out what type of music you want to produce, how you will market that music and how you are going to make money from your new music production company. This last point is critical and one that people often overlook. Yes, running a record label is fun but it is also a business. The most profitable music to produce might not necessarily be the music you would listen to at home. Come up with a strategy that will convince artists and investors that you know where you want to take your record label.
2. Join a performance rights organization. The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), the Society of European Stage Authors and Composers (SESAC) and Broadcast Music Inc (BMI) are the three main performance rights organizations in the United States. One thing to bear in mind is that you can be an active member of only one of these organizations at any given time, so choose carefully. See resources section for links to websites.