This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Why doesn't the media inform the public about the "Common Core" learning standards?
04-16-2013, 04:48 AM
Why doesn't the media inform the public about the "Common Core" learning standards?
Since all but Hawaii and Alaska have adopted these new learning standards shouldn't the media be explaining them to parents? If not the media, then why aren't the schools explaining them?

It just seems so secretive and wrong! How and when will kids be tested? Will more kids be held back if they don't meet these specific standards?

If teachers salaries are based on students performance then shouldn't the students and parents be held accountable for the learning of these standards as well?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-16-2013, 04:56 AM

I am a teacher who is using the common core in my second year. Last year it was introduced and I incorporated it a bit, this year it is all standards based.
I teach elementary school, and we sent home letters with report cards explaining the standards, and I talk to the parents of my kids about them and the changes. I am from a state that the common core is based off of, so it is not a HUGE change for us as it will be for some other states.