This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Maketing advice for small company?
04-16-2013, 07:05 PM
Maketing advice for small company?
I am a recent college graduate.I have just joined a small it/multimedia company (been in business for four years) as marketing manager, there has never been marketing before (all work is from word-of-mouth). I just joined a network group but, how can I get clients with little or no cost. My boss is really putting the pressure on to perform!

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
04-16-2013, 07:13 PM

It sounds like your posistion is going to be a sales one.

You should get a portfolio together with client references if possible. Then you need to phone around and introduce your company to prospective clients. Wear the rubber off your shoes.

Sales = see the people - see the people - see the people

You also need to have a plan like your target market etc

Good Luck

Ads

Your boss can't hire fresh graduate and expect him/her to perform. What firm hires fresh graduates and make them marketing manager before inducting them as marketing executive/marketing trainee - asst. marketing manager - and then perhaps marketing manager.

Your job title may be marketing manager but it sound a lot more like you're being expected to be a sales person. Marketing takes a budget - because marketing precedes you - meaning it goes out in front of you. I sort of agree with the other writer - it kind of sounds like your boss is throwing a young guy to the wolves a little bit.