This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Is graduate school a waste of money? Why should I pursue an advanced degree?
05-27-2013, 02:54 PM
Is graduate school a waste of money? Why should I pursue an advanced degree?
Your Open QuestionShow me another »
Do I really need a graduate degree? Isn't it a waste of money?
So, here's my story - I'm in my early 20's with a public policy-related job, which is more than I could ask for. Why does everyone insist that I pursue a Master's degree, while accumulating over $25,000 worth of debt? Fortunately, I just payed off all undergraduate student loans, so I'm virtually debt-free. I majored in political science and am thankful to hold a position that allows me to utilize my degree, granted I had to work my butt off to get hired.

My post graduate options-

Graduate degree in public policy/affairs, public administration, non-profit management, government/political science.

Cons- these degrees will barely increase my earning potential. Not only will they cost over $23,000 and countless study hours, they'll increase my yearly income by less than $5,000. Advanced degrees for the public sector rarely ever pay off, unless, of course, it's a program at Harvard's Kennedy School of Government or something similar.

Law School - $100,000 student loans, weak job market, especially in the San Francisco Bay Area, where I currently reside.

Social Science Master's - Why bother?

MBA, sciences, etc - not an option, I have 3 years of government/public sector experience. It wouldn't make sense to apply for an MBA, health care, or any other "it now" degrees. It would be a complete waste of time.

Having reviewed my case, wouldn't you agree that grad school is a waste of money? What do you think?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-27-2013, 03:00 PM