This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
YA Readers, where do you find your books?
05-27-2013, 03:05 PM
YA Readers, where do you find your books?
I'm a self-published author wondering where I should invest more time promoting my book. So what I want to know is how do you decide what to read next? Have you ever clicked on an ad for a book on Amazon and ended up buying it? Do you browse site like "Addicted to e-books" or "Freebooksy" to find deals, and if so which sites do you like? Do you find books through Facebook or Twitter? Or do you rely soely on recommendations from friends and family?

I write YA Paranormal Romance, so feedback from readers who like this genre is particularily appreciated.

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-27-2013, 03:12 PM

well romance I buy if my friends or family recommends it as im not a fan of that genre but I normally just look at a couple of pages and if I like it then I buy.
I also buy books that were made into films so

Ads

05-27-2013, 03:21 PM

oh go and have accounts on goodreads. there are lots of authors there who were just starting out and got discovered.. when you have an account there, you'll understand. its kind of hard to explain. there are like suggestions and recommendations on what to read based on the books the user has read. and there are lots TONS of ya books there.. try advertising there
05-27-2013, 03:25 PM

I look at reviews from mainstream sources.

Before you sink any money into advertising on "addicted to ebooks" or "freebooksy", ask yourself this question: Have I ever (or do I know anyone who has ever) purchased any book or product as a result of seeing an ad on one of those sites? To that end, how many self-published books have you purchased in the past year -- in the past ten years?

You've got a tough road ahead.