This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
How to create a video game?
05-27-2013, 04:15 PM
How to create a video game?
I have always wanted to play a really good survival/farming/building towns rpg-based game. Since I couldn't ever find one which is exactly what i am looking for, I decided to make one.

A little like Harvest Moon, a little of like Mine Craft, and a little like Skyrim, for examples.

I have been an artist and writer since I could pick up a pencil, and I know It's possible because I can study everything from books and the internet I need to know to make one.

So I want to ask what programs I should use to get started creating a game, and the basics.

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-27-2013, 04:16 PM

Here's an overly simplified list. Keep in mind this is one of many possible ways (primarily for Xbox live development), but I figure it's as good as any.

1. Get involved in online indie dev communities (google them). Ask/learn/network as much as possible. Make friends, get involved in projects, offer your talents and improve your skills. You could purchase an indie developer account at Microsoft, they have communities there I think.
2. Download Microsoft Visual C# 2010 Express, it's a free programming software suite. Get a book or look for online tutorials to teach yourself the programming language C#. Get familiar and comfortable with it. This could take awhile if you have no experience programming.
3. Download and install XNA (it's an Xbox developers library, sort of an add-on for Visual C).
4. Start programming. Get yourself familiar with XNA. Look for online tutorials. I've put some in the reference section.