This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Is now a good time to talk about making your social security funds accessible to the stock market by others?
10-13-2012, 03:20 AM
Is now a good time to talk about making your social security funds accessible to the stock market by others?
I mean, the stock market IS infallible, and it is (was) your money; right?

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2012, 03:28 AM

Yeah, lets talk about that.

Ads

Now is a good chance to look up ever legislator that voted against that and send them a Thank You note.

I would have invested mine in GNMAs.

McCain still advocates for privatizing Social Security. He thinks it's a good idea.

I worked in the industry. There is a reason I left even though I worked with wonderful people that are not typical. It's important to note they are still very successful because I keep in touch with them. You can be successful and moral. The stock market is not in my estimation an appropriate place for social security funds. I view social security as a back up. Most people do not understand the stock market. I worked with retirement accounts. It's not a good idea to let most people run wild with them so to speak. They just do not have the sophistication. I started working with them before the fees that they charge were made public. People had no idea how much they were being charged. It was a lot, as much as they could get away with. We employees weren't making that much. We worked very hard. My managers told me that I was a big asset to the company because of my high productivity.

I advocate for keeping social security as it is. I know it's in trouble but letting it be privatized is going to create more problems, not less.