This Forum has been archived there is no more new posts or threads ... use this link to report any abusive content
==> Report abusive content in this page <==

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
For My First Demo CD Should I Own Rights To The Instrumentals, Lease Or Just Record On Them For Free?
10-13-2012, 01:16 PM
For My First Demo CD Should I Own Rights To The Instrumentals, Lease Or Just Record On Them For Free?
I am a lyricist/singer-song writer working on releasing a demo cd. The beats or instrumentals I will be using have been downloaded from the internet and I don't know if it would be wise to lease, buy exclusively or just record the cd for free. I do have some really good material and I plan on performing at open mics, showcases, and if I were to get booked at a local bar I would like to have the cd available for sale. In addition I would be selling my cd in the street and posting songs on social media. I even thought about making a music video for 1 or 2 songs. This would be my first cd in a while and it would really be used for promotion and I would try to get it played on some college stations and pass it to dj's and stuff but I have no guarantee of huge success but I feel like it is a great cd and has a lot of potential and I have met a few influential music pro's who I will be giving it to. With that said should I buy the beats, lease or just record on them for free? Please help!

Ads

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-13-2012, 01:24 PM

Personally i don't believe in "Owning the Rights" to a set of sounds. Besides having people passing around your stuff freely to others only helps you become popular.
Edit: Just to clear this up Steven is wrong. It's not illegal to redistribute music from artists who do not copyright there music but you likely know this. Ever heard of a mixtape Steven?

Ads