Twitist Forums
How old should you be to get a facebook? - Printable Version

+- Twitist Forums (http://twitist.com)
+-- Forum: Facebook forums (/forum-14.html)
+--- Forum: General facebook and life forums (/forum-25.html)
+--- Thread: How old should you be to get a facebook? (/thread-30502.html)

Pages: 1 2

How old should you be to get a facebook? - Gigi - 11-09-2012 04:48 PM

My daughter is 10 and she wants a facebook. We are very close, and I know that she would only post appropriate pictures and write appropriate comments. I just want to see what people think. Any preferences? Thanks

- Liz!! - 11-09-2012 04:56 PM

I would say 8th grade, or as long as you have her password so you can monitor it, there is a lot of freaks out there on facebook!

- MightyLog - 11-09-2012 04:56 PM

Help her set it up and make sure you are one of her "friends". That way, you will have her p-word and you can monitor what she is doing on it.

- Megan - 11-09-2012 04:56 PM

I am a college student, and I personally think she should wait. Even if the comments are appropriate, studies show that facebook can make people sad at times. Yes, facebook can help you stay connected, but the internet can also be the ultimate bully tool. I would hold off until junior high at least.

- Maddy C - 11-09-2012 04:56 PM

I'd say no for sure. Facebook used to be for college students only, and then 18 and up! What happened to that? My age limit would have to be AT least 14 years old.

- momof3boys - 11-09-2012 04:56 PM